Online Workshops

 
Welcome to Skills for Learning. We are a team of librarians supporting different academic skills, including searching for literature, academic writing and referencing.

Our Skills workshops are currently being delivered online in Canvas. We will email you with details of how to join the session. If you have any questions please contact us.

All our sign-up sessions are introductory – if you are looking to advance your skills further (perhaps you are a Masters student) please get in touch to arrange an appointment (skills@wlv.ac.uk). These can be run 1-2-1 or with a small group.

Do you have a particular learning need? Before booking, we’d recommend you look over the Communication Services page. If you require a BSL interpreter, manual note-taker or other communication support service, please organise this prior to attending the workshop.

Skills for Learning Workshops:  
Date
Time
Workshop (Click to Book)

Wednesday 08/12/2021

10:00-11:30  Introduction to Reflective Writing 

Wednesday 08/12/2021

2:30-4:00  Finding Academic Information 

Thursday 09/12/2021

9:30-11:00  Harvard Referencing 

Thursday 09/12/2021

2:30-4:00  Starting your Literature Review 

Thursday 09/12/2021

5:30-7:00  Introduction to Critical Thinking 

Friday 10/12/2021

9:30-11:00  Introduction to Academic Writing 

Friday 10/12/2021

2:30-4:00  Finding Academic Information 

Saturday 11/12/2021

10:30-12:00  Introduction to Critical thinking 

Monday 13/12/2021

9:30-11:00  Harvard Referencing

Monday 13/12/2021

2:30-4:00  Finding Academic Information 

Tuesday 14/12/2021

9:30-11:00  Introduction to Academic Writing 

Tuesday 14/12/2021

2:30-4:00  Thinking about your dissertation

Tuesday 14/12/2021

5:30-7:00  Introduction to Reflective Writing 

Wednesday 15/12/2021

9:30-11:00  Introduction to Critical thinking

Wednesday 15/12/2021

12:00-1:30  Referencing with RefWorks 

Thursday 16/12/2021

10:00-11:30  Finding Academic Information 

Thursday 16/12/2021

2:30-4:00  Introduction to Academic Writing 

Friday 17/12/2021

2:30-4:00  Starting your Literature Review

Monday 20/12/2021

9:30-11:00  Finding Academic Information 

Monday 20/12/2021

2:30-3:00  Bitesize workshop - Microsoft Powerpoint 

Monday 20/12/2021

3:30-4:00  Bitesize workshop - Microsoft Excel 

Tuesday 21/12/2021

9:30-11:00  Harvard Referencing

Tuesday 21/12/2021

2:30-4:00 introduction to Critical thinking 

Wednesday 22/12/2021

9:30-11:00  Starting your Literature Review 

Wednesday 22/12/2021

2:30-4:00 Introduction to Reflective Writing

Thursday 23/12/2021

9:30-11:00  Finding Academic Information 

Thursday 23/12/2021

2:30-4:00  Introduction to Academic Writing

Thursday 23/12/2021

5:30-7:00  Improve your Presentation Skills

Friday 24/12/2021

9:30-11:00  Harvard Referencing 

Friday 24/12/2021

12:00-1:30  Introduction to Academic Writing 

Tuesday 04/01/2022

9:30-11:00  Harvard Referencing

Tuesday 04/01/2022

2:30-4:00  Introduction to Academic Writing 

Wednesday 05/01/2022

10:00-11:30  Finding Academic Information 

Wednesday 05/01/2022

2:30-4:00  Introduction to Critical thinking 

Thursday 06/01/2022

9:30-11:00  Introduction to Academic Writing 

Thursday 06/01/2022

2:30-4:00  Finding Academic Information 

Thursday 06/01/2022

5:30-7:00  Improve your Presentation Skills

Friday 07/01/2022

9:30-11:00  Harvard Referencing 

Friday 07/01/2022

2:30-4:00  Introduction to Reflective Writing