Skip to main content

Visas for EU/EEA applicants

EU/EEA nationals are usually admitted to the UK with the minimum formalities and only need to show a valid passport or identity card to enter the UK.

EU/EEA nationals have the right of residence during their course, provided that they have sufficient means to support themselves without recourse to public funds. It is, however, advisable to carry a letter with you confirming you have been offered a place of study at the University of Wolverhampton in case you are asked any questions about your intentions at the border.

This information applies to you if you come from one of the following countries:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Republic of Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

Signatory States of the European Economic Area (EEA)

The 27 member states of the EU plus:

  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway


An international treaty means that since 01 June 2002, Swiss nationals have a similar right to live in the UK as EEA nationals

Please note: Students from Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican are NOT part of the European Union