Back Back

Primary school transforms to University academy


Whitgreave Primary School became Featherstone Academy when it joined the Education Central Multi-Academy Trust (ECMAT) on September 1.

ECMAT is part of the University and works with schools to improve achievements and attainment and is an approved Department for Education academy sponsor.

The new academy welcomed pupils and their families, friends and guests to join them in a celebration assembly in recognition of a better educational future for its pupils on September 2.

Sir Geoff Hampton, Chief Executive Education Central Multi Academy Trust, said: “We are delighted that Featherstone Academy has joined our family of schools.

“The governors at the school are pleased with the conversion and are looking forward to the school moving from good to outstanding with the support and challenge from ECMAT.

“We will continue to benefit all students and the region as a whole, while raising standards and aspirations of young people throughout our academies.”

Head teacher of the new academy, Caroline Jobling said: “Whitgreave Primary school is proud and excited about its conversion to Featherstone Academy on 1st September.

“The school opened in 1928 and was originally called Featherstone School, the change of name recognises the fact that the school is proud to be the village school, serves the community of Featherstone and has very strong partnerships with parents and the community of Featherstone”

Guests of honour, Mary Davies, a resident of Featherstone and one of the school’s first pupils and the academy’s two youngest pupils will also be attending the celebration assembly.

Balloons will be released to celebrate the event and children will have a small party towards the end of the day.

ECMAT and the academy’s governors have funded a school mini-bus for its pupils to use from September.

Members of staff will also be completing their ice bucket challenges during the celebratory events.


For more information please contact Danielle Taylor in the Media Relations Office on
01902 322448

For more information please contact the Media Relations Office on 01902 32 2736 or 01902 518647.

Share this release