Skip to main content
Back Back

Graduation to celebrate success


The hard work and dedication of students will be celebrated as hundreds of University of Wolverhampton graduates collect their degree scrolls.

Three graduation ceremonies will be held for more than 760 School of Health and Wellbeing and Postgraduate students on Wednesday, 4 and Thursday, 5 April 2012.

Honorary degrees and professorships will also be presented at the ceremonies, which will take place at Wolverhampton Grand Theatre.

A procession of academics, Governors and invited guests from the University’s main reception through the city centre streets to the Grand Theatre will be held before each ceremony.

Three honorary degrees will be awarded. Chief Executive of West Midlands Ambulance Service, Anthony Marsh, will receive an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science from the School of Health and Wellbeing. Terry Last, Chief Executive of Tarmac, will be presented with an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Business Administration from the University of Wolverhampton Business School. Director for People, Communities and Local Government at the Department of Health, Glen Mason, will also receive an Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science from the School of Applied Sciences.

Also among those to be recognised is BBC Newsnight’s Economics Editor, Paul Mason, who will become a Visiting Professor of Economics at the University of Wolverhampton Business School.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Geoff Layer, who joined the University in August, will receive a Professorship in Lifelong Learning and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Professor Ann Holmes will become Professor of the University.

Professor Layer said: “We are proud of the achievements of all our students, and graduation is a great opportunity to celebrate their successes as they move onto the next stage of their careers or further study.

“We’re also delighted to be awarding honorary degrees to three leading figures who have made a significant contribution to their fields, as well as professorships and visiting and honorary professorships to experts whose knowledge and experience will provide interesting insights for our students.”

The list of Professorships and awards is below:

Executive Geoff Layer - Professor of Lifelong Learning

Ann Holmes - Professor of the University

University of Wolverhampton Business School

Paul Mason – Visiting Professor of Economics

Terry Last - Honorary Degree of Doctor of Business Administration

School of Health and Wellbeing

Ruoling Chen – Honorary Professor of Public and Mental Health

Anthony Marsh - Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science

Antony Sheehan - Honorary Professor of Healthcare Leadership

School of Applied Sciences

Glen Mason - Honorary Degree of Doctor of Science

School of Law, Social Sciences and Communications

Stephen Badsey – Professor of Conflict Studies

School for Education Futures

Deb McGregor – Professor of Learning and Developing Pedagogy

Patricia Murphy – Visiting Professor of Educational Research

Toby Salt – Visiting Professor in Education Leadership

School of Sports, Performing Arts and Leisure

Matthew Wyon – Professor of Dance Science

Jasmin Vardimon – Visiting Professor of Performance

School of Technology

Garry Homer – Emeritus Professor of Technology Transfer

Janusz Holyst – Visiting Professor of Physics


You are welcome to send a photographer and/or reporter to the graduation ceremonies and processions. If you would like to attend, please contact Vickie Warren in the Media Relations Office on 01902 322736.

For more information please contact the Corporate Communications Team.

Share this release