Skip to main content

The Research Policy Unit (RPU)

The Research Policy Unit develops, implements and monitors the University research strategy. It is responsible for research ethics, research governance, policy, management and reporting of research-related management information, and development and dissemination of institutional research publications and other communications.

The Unit overseas the management of institutional submissions to research assessment exercises (e.g. RAE 2008, REF 2014), statutory returns, coordination of research and management of institutional strategic research investment.

It works with the International Centre to internationalise research undertaken by the University and assist with the development of networks for Horizon 2020 or other forthcoming EU initiatives.

It works with others in the University to address questions around gender imbalance in research leadership positions and will be responsible for providing the framework to support the development of researchers at all stages of their career in collaboration with HR, CAP and the University Careers Service. 

RPU Staff

Name & ProfileRole
Professor Silke Machold Dean of Research and Head of the Research Policy Unit
Dr Benjamin Halligan Director of the Doctoral College
Dr Camelia Dijkstra Head of Research Services
Dr Debra Cureton Associate Professor of Equality in Learning and Teaching
Jill Morgan Research Integrity Manager
Melissa Thorneycroft Research Systems and Operations Manager 
Dr Ben Coleman Research Impact Officer
Jo Mills Research Impact Officer
Dr Chris Wyatt Research Impact Officer
Stephen Greenfield RPU/ Doctoral College Administrative Officer