Back Back

Prize Winning Children’s Fiction at Walsall

Poster showing 6 prize winning books

Good quality books for children and young people are important for our students studying to work in early years, primary and secondary education. We have a fantastic selection of Children’s Fiction within our Curriculum Resources Collection in the University’s Walsall Library.

Our latest display at the Walsall Library features all the books shortlisted in 2023 for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize, the Yoto Carnegie Medal for Illustration and the Yoto Carnegie Medal for Writing.  Follow the links to find out more.

You are welcome to borrow any of the books on display or browse and reserve the books via the collection Children's Book Prize Shortlisted Books.

The 2023 prize winners are:

  • Waterstones Best Book for Older Readers - The Cats We Meet Along the Way, by Nadia Mikail (Overall Winner)
  • Waterstones Best Book for Younger Readers - Nura and the Immortal Palace, by M. T. Khan
  • Waterstones Best Illustrated Book - Gretel the Wonder Mammoth, by Kim Hillyard
  • Yoto Carnegie Medal for Writing - The Blue Book of Nebo, written and translated by Manon Steffan Ros
  • Yoto Carnegie Medal for Illustration - Saving Sorya: Chang and the Sun Bear, by Jeet Zdung

For more information please contact the Corporate Communications Team.

Share this release