About us

Our website will provide information and publications developed through the network’s activities. This will be supported through a series of seminars and conferences; an online journal; and an occasional paper series based on academic and practitioner research.

We will reach out to schools, providing them with football club historians who will run sessions on the history of their clubs, incorporating aspects of football and war.

Who we are

The network is made up of military historians with an interest in football and football club historians. The network has been established through grants from the Oxford United Chairman, Darryl Eales and the University of Wolverhampton. It is based at the Centre for Historical Research, University of Wolverhampton. The National Football Museum based in Manchester along with Soccer History and Back Pass (retro football publications) have also added their support to the project.


To be announced


Mr Darryl Eales – Chairman, Oxford United Football Club


Professor Gary Sheffield

Network Convenor

Dr Alex Alexandrou

Dr Iain Adams – University of Central Lancashire

Dr Alex Alexandrou – Freelance Academic

Mr Martin Brodetsky – Oxford United Football Club

Dr Alexander Jackson – National Football Museum

Professor Gary Sheffield – University of Wolverhampton

Professor Matthew Taylor – De Montfort University

Dr John Benson – University of Wolverhampton

Professor John Bourne – Western Front Association

Professor Graham Brookes – University of Wolverhampton

Dr Mike Dennis – University of Wolverhampton

Dr Emma Hanna – University of Kent

Mr Clive Harris – Battle Honours

Dr Paul Fantom – Freelance Academic

Dr Stuart Farquhar – University of Wolverhampton

Dr Mathew Ford – University of Sussex

Dr Aimée Fox-Godden – Kings College, London

Dr Gary James – Manchester Metropolitan University

Dr Stuart Mitchell – Royal Military Academy, Sandhurst

Mr Ian Nannestad – Soccer History Magazine

Professor Peter Simkins – President of the Western Front Association

Professor Johannes-Dieter Steinert – University of Wolverhampton

Dr Daniel Whittingham – University of Birmingham