Skip to main content
Back Back

University sponsors IoD Director of the Year Awards


The University of Wolverhampton is sponsoring the Institute of Directors (IoD) Midlands Director of the Year Awards 2020.

This year a joint ceremony for the East and West Midlands will be hosted virtually on November 12.

On why it’s important for the University be involved, Emma Bloomfield, Head of Executive Education, said: “We’ve been working with the IoD for a number of years, including a popular and successful mentoring programme for final year students. We’re delighted to be able to support them with the Director of the Year Awards, in what has been an incredibly challenging year.

“We are pleased to be sponsoring the Director of the Year - Equality, Diversity & Inclusion category, which are elements that are at the core of our mission. The University of Wolverhampton is the University of Opportunity its purpose is to provide a high quality of education for the community of the Black Country; aspiring and enabling a diverse range of people to access higher education who may have not seen it as an option previously.

“We enable this social inclusion and social change through the development of a course portfolio that equips students with knowledge and skills that are not only relevant to their subject of study, but which provide Graduate Attributes; being digitally literate, knowledgeable, enterprising global citizens.”

On the event’s webpage the IoD, West Midlands, said: “Going virtual means that so many more can join in the celebrations.

“Covid 19 has prompted many businesses to come up with novel ways of working and provided the opportunity to try new ways of doing things. As such, we have decided to join forces with our colleagues in East Midlands for this year and run the awards across the whole of the Midlands, offering greater visibility to our inspirational finalists.”

Free tickets for the event, which takes place November 12, 5pm – 6:30pm, can be booked online.


For more information please contact the Corporate Communications Team.

Share this release

Related Stories