Skip to main content
Back Back

University science technician scoops national award


David Luckhurst and Professor Iain StewartDavid Luckhurst was one of the winners in the Higher Education Academy STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) Technician of the Year Awards for 2014.

He has been a senior technician in the University’s Faculty of Science and Engineering since 1998 and won the Biosciences category at the awards, which recognise the valuable contribution made by technical staff.

As the teaching of science via computing and online learning has increased, David has embraced the need for teaching materials within a variety of subjects from Microbiology to Forensic Science. He has created media such as teaching videos, which has seen an increase in the success rate of students.

Dr Derek Walton, Associate Dean Recruitment and Outreach, said: “This is a well-deserved award for David who has, like all our technical force, made a huge contribution to the running of the University.

“It was David’s new and innovative work in the production of teaching videos and outreach material which made the difference and resulted in the award.”

David has been instrumental in the outreach work within the Faculty, providing ideas for the ‘SciFest’ science and engineering festival as well as creating promotional material which includes his creation of Yellowman – a small modelling-clay character used to encourage youngsters towards an interest in science.

David is also one of the founder members of the University of Wolverhampton’s ‘Science Shack’, a mobile unit that takes science onto the street in order to engage members of the public.

The award was presented at the annual HEA STEM conference held at the University of Edinburgh on April 30. Professor Iain Stewart, Professor of Geoscience Communication at University of Plymouth, and presenter of the BBC series Earth, presented the awards.


For more information please contact Emma Pugh in the Media Relations Office on 01902 322736. 

Date Issued: Friday May 2, 2014

For more information please contact the Media Relations Office on 01902 32 2736 or 01902 518647.

Share this release