Vice Chancellor's Awards for Staff Excellence 2016

The Faculty of Social Sciences is proud of academic and administrative staff from our Faculty who were amongst the winners at the Vice Chancellor's Awards for Staff Excellence 2016. Congratulations to the winners and to everyone who was shortlisted or nominated for an award. The Awards Ceremony took place in the Chancellor's Hall, City Campus on 29 June.

Miceál Barden, Dean of Faculty of Social Sciences said: "I am delighted to say that at last night's University Staff Awards Ceremony the Faculty did exceptionally well. I have already previously congratulated all the nominees who made it through to the shortlist and that in itself was a major achievement.Congratulations to all the award winners on the night, it's a wonderful reflection on the hard work and commitment of all the staff involved and fully deserved."

And the winners are...

Inspirational Team Member

Pauline Anderson

Winner: Pauline Anderson, Head of Department  for Social Science, Inclusion and Public Protection 

Pauline manages a large, diverse department with acumen, humour and sensitivity. She supports and inspires staff to do the best that they can for students, and is a fantastic advocate for the University and Social Sciences with a range of external agencies and organisations. She has most recently guided the department through two consecutive years of curriculum review.

An Extra Mile

Moving and Timetable Team receive award

Winner: The Moving and Timetabling Team

This award recognises a partnership between the Central Timetabling Unit (led by Georgina Lahiri) and the Faculty of Social Sciences administration team who worked together to reschedule hundreds of previously planned teaching sessions last year. As well as having to manage their other ‘business as usual’ at the start of the academic year, the teams worked tirelessly with colleagues from DAS and senior academic staff to source teaching space, with great feedback from student and staff on the alternative arrangements and the helpful guidance provided.

The FoSS administration team members are: Student Advisors Donna Curbishley, Lubna Choudhury,  Lynne Pennells, Academic Support Co-ordinator Asha Patel and Assistant Registrar (Academic )Amanda Platt

Excellence in Partnership

CIDT staff are presented with their award

Winner: Centre for International Development (CIDT)

Through the Centre’s development and operationalisation of Rwanda’s national climate fund, FONERWA (Fonds National de l’Environnement), the University is pioneering support to the Government of Rwanda to set its economy on a low carbon and climate resilient development trajectory. The Centre has helped FONERWA to showcase excellence in a highly innovative field and the project is of great interest to other developing countries and partners.