Scott Petrie

Course: BA (Hons) Childhood and Family Studies

"I’d been a financial advisor for seven years but didn’t feel it was the right career for me. My experience working as an entertainment rep for holiday companies as well as at the Sea Life Centre in Birmingham meant I’d done a lot of work with children. I always loved this work which is what drew me to change career and study for a degree in Childhood and Family Studies.

"I live in private accommodation so I like to get on to campus about an hour before lectures in order to get prepared and check my emails and Facebook.

"Typically I have one or two lectures a day but starting in my second year I shall be working on placement in a local Primary school as well, which I am very much looking forward to.

"My work load is very varied, I’ve taken part in tutorials, seminars, presentations and am currently finishing off some assignments before the end of the year. I have particularly enjoyed doing group work ‘in the field’, where we’ve gone to playgrounds to analyse health and safety issues.

"I love the [Walsall] campus, it has loads of good facilities including a new sports centre and a fantastic Learning Centre with plenty of computers for everybody. I’ve always found the campus really clean and tidy and everyone is very friendly.

"The support I have received since starting the course has been great. The tutors are always there when you need them; whether it’s in person after a lecture or if I send them a quick email.

Yes [I'd recommend the course], definitely. It’s a great starting point for numerous careers involving children, their families and the services that support them.

"I would like to become a Primary School teacher and am planning to study for a PGCE at the University of Wolverhampton upon completion of my course."