Nursing regulator approves first 12 universities in far-reaching education standards update

The new standards are designed to ensure newly-qualified nurses are prepared for the future needs of patients and employers.

The University of Wolverhampton is one of the first 12 universities to deliver the new education standards.

Professor Linda Lang, Dean of the School of Health and Wellbeing, said: "We are delighted to be one of the first universities to deliver the new standards in nursing education. Our mission is to ensure our students have the appropriate skills and knowledge to meet the needs of patients and employers, and receiving this approval from the NMC recognises our commitment to providing a first-class foundation for a career in health and social care."

NMC Director of Education, Rita Newland, said: “We are delighted to announce the first 12 universities to deliver the new education standards. The NMC is committed to continually ensuring nurses receive the highest standard of education and that the public receives the best possible health care at all times.

“These new standards are critical to enabling nurses develop the skills they need to meet the changing needs of patients. They will help future nurses care for an ageing population, with growing numbers of people with long term conditions, and are able to meet rising patient expectations.

“The standards will ensure nurses are well prepared for an increasingly complex role; working in interdisciplinary teams, often based in the community, and requiring a broader and deeper range of knowledge than ever before.

“In the future nurses will need to think even more broadly, and have the confidence to lead and manage, as well as recognise and anticipate trends and future challenges.”

The 12 universities from Scotland and England are the first of 32 due to start delivering courses under the new standards this year. By the end of 2013 they are expected to be joined by a further 32 universities across the UK.

The programmes will enhance students’ skills in a wide range of areas including: providing broader knowledge of fundamentals across all fields of nursing; preparing them for new ways of working and greater use of technology; and giving greater practical experience in the community.

Universities have been encouraged to take an innovative approach, and are now required to involve patients in student selection, course design, and teaching.

The 12 universities signed off are: 

  • University of Wolverhampton 
  • Anglia Ruskin University
  • Buckinghamshire New University 
  • Glasgow Caledonian University 
  • Kingston University 
  • London South Bank University
  • Manchester Metropolitan University 
  • University of Dundee 
  • University of Leeds 
  • University of Salford 
  • University of Southampton 
  • University of Worcester

Share this release