Generic star banner

University Research Committee

Meeting Dates & Minutes 2017-18

Only confirmed minutes appear here.  For the availability of unconfirmed minutes, please consult the Committee Officer; Phil Whittingham


Prof Geoff Layer

Vice Chancellor

Habiba Amjad

Student's Union

James Anthony-Edwards


Karen Bill

AD Research and Enterprise FEHW

Prof John Buckley

Centre for Historical Research

Prof Keith Burnham

AD Research and Postgraduate FSE

Dr Ben Colbert

Centre for Transnational and Transcultural Research

Prof John Darling

Dean of Research, Vice Chair and Director RIHS

Prof Phil Dearden

AD Research and Enterprise FoSS

Ray Flynn

Research Policy Advisor

Prof Michael Fullen

Professor of Soil Technology FSE

Janette Gilder

Project Support Office

Dr Ben Halligan

Director Doctoral College

Prof Dew Harrison

Chair of Professoriate

Prof David Hill

Professor of Applied Microbiology FSE

Prof Chris Hockings

College of Learning and Teaching

Sam Hope

AD Research and Enterprise FoA

Prof Silke Machold

Management Research Centre

Prof Ruslan Mitkov

Director RIILP

Jill Morgan

Research Policy Unit

Dr Fran Pheasant-Kelly

Centre for Film, Media, Discourse and Culture

Dr Chris Twine

Academic Registrar

Dr Peter Walton

The Law Research Centre

Phil Whittingham

Committee Officer - StaR Office


PGR Student Rep


PGR Student Rep

Terms of Reference

1. To formulate and advise on research strategy and policy throughout the University and

assist where appropriate in the preparation of the submission for Research Excellence

Framework (REF).

2a. To stimulate research effort throughout the University and to provide the quality

assurance and monitoring processes for ensuring high calibre research performance.

 2b.To seek and to stimulate research that underpins course development, impacts upon

the curriculum, and leads to contractual arrangements with industry, commerce and

the professions.

3. Through its own functions and those of its Sub-Committees, to ensure compliance with the Regulations of the University relating to the award of its research degrees.

 4. To review and, where necessary, revise the regulations for the award of the

University’s research degrees.

 5. To have the following powers, relating to the examination and assessment for and

conferment of degrees, to act on behalf of the University:

i) to oversee the approval of the appointment of internal and external examiners for research


ii) to make decisions, based upon consideration of the reports and recommendations

of the examiners, with regard to the conferment of a Research Degree;

 6. To scrutinise, via a purposely appointed Sub-Committee of experienced researchers,

applications for the award of Higher Doctorates and to administer procedures for the

examination and conferment of such degrees.

Archive of Minutes










Links & Related Documents