Skip to main content


Annual Report 2007

Management structure

Chancellor and Executive


Lord Paul of Marylebone

Professor Caroline Gipps
Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Professor Geoff Hurd
Senior Pro Vice-Chancellor
Mr Garry Sproston
Pro Vice-Chancellors
Professor Gerald Bennett
Professor Sally Glen
Professor Sir Geoff Hampton
Ms Jane Nelson

Board of Governors

Mr BJ Sharples
Deputy Chairman
Mr M Elliott
Professor Caroline Gipps
Independent members
Ms K Copestake
Mr P Finlan
Ms K Gee
Dr J Johnson
Ms SM Peters
Cllr. KS Sahota
Mr J Sharp (AC)
Mr AJ Smith
Mr J Woolridge
Co-opted members
Mr R Carr
Mr J Chorley
Ms L Cutting
Mrs M Jefferies
Dr S Walford
Academic Board nominees
Ms P A Cooper
Professor J Gilkison
Student nominee member
Mr R Longfils


Dean of School of Applied Sciences
Professor Patrick Rowbotham
Dean of School of Art and Design
Dr Bryony Conway
Dean of School of Computing and Information Technology
Professor Robert Moreton
Dean of School of Education
Professor Kit Field
Dean of School of Engineering and the Built Environment
Professor Paul Olomolaiye
Dean of School of Health
Professor Linda Lang
Dean of School of Humanities, Languages and Social Sciences
Dr Barbara Gwinnett
Dean of School of Legal Studies
Mr Brian Mitchell
Dean of School of Sport, Performing Arts and Leisure
Mr John Pymm
Dean of University of Wolverhampton Business School
Professor Dominic Wilson
Dean of Research and Graduate Studies
Professor Jean Gilkison
Dean of Students
Mr Jon Elsmore

University Secretary

University Secretary and Clerk to the Board of Governors
Antony W Lee

Heads and directors of service departments

Academic Registrar
Paul Travill
Director Business Development and Enterprise
Dr Alan Collins
Director Facilities
Roger H Williams
Director Institute of Learning Enhancement (ILE)
Dr Glynis Cousin (April 2008)
Director International
Ms Jo Gittens
Director IT Services
Colin Addy (May 2008)
Director Learning Information Services
Fiona Parsons
Director Marketing and Communications
Ashar Ehsan
Director Personnel
Roger J Williams
Director Strategic Developments
Nigel Babb (March 2008)
Deputy Director Education Partnerships
Paul Bishton
Deputy Director Education Partnerships
Jan Roman
Head of Finance
Andy Holding (May 2008)
Head of Risk Safety and Health
Martin Hedley-Smith