Help with Saving Files

Personal File Store (PFS)

  • You get 1GB of space allocated for your own files on a University central file server.
  • You can save to your PFS from any computer with Internet access, so you can access your files from home or abroad.
  • Save to the Documents folder on a Windows 7 University computer to save your files to your own PFS.
    (Note: you cannot save to the hard disk of standard student Windows computers). 

Skydrive

  • Every student has 7GB of online storage as part of their Office365 email account.
  • You can save to your OneDrive from the Office applications, e.g. Word, by selecting File > Save and Send > Save to web. 

USB Memory Sticks / Flash Drives

  • USB or data sticks , which plug in to the computer's USB port, are a good option for storing your files. 

Remember:

Always keep a copy of important files in more than one place. If you accidentally delete part/all of a file that is stored on OneDrive or in PFS, or a file becomes corrupted, you may not be able to get it back. Either keep a copy on portable media, or on your own computer or email it to yourself.

Deleting Files

Files deleted from your 'My Documents' folder will go into your Recycle Bin, so you can recover a file if you delete it by accident. There is an exception to this, which is if you access your 'My Documents' folder by choosing the 'U:' drive (home on prs-store2.unv.wlv.ac.uk) from the list under My Computer (Computer on a Windows 7 PC). Any file deleted from the 'U:' drive will not go into the Recycle Bin.

Personal File Store (PFS)

  • We recommend that you use this as your main file storage area.
  • Every member of staff has 4GB of space allocated to them on the central file store for storing their own files. 

Advantages of saving to your PFS

  • You can save to your PFS from any computer with Internet access, so you can access your files from staff PCs, from home, or from student Windows computers in labs and teaching rooms.
  • Only you have access to it - you must either have logged on to a University Windows standard secure computer, or used your username and password on any other computer in order to use it.
  • It is backed up regularly, so in the unlikely event of a systems failure, your files will be restored. However, you should always keep a copy of important files that are in your PFS. If you accidentally delete part/all of a file that is stored in PFS, or a file becomes corrupted, you may not be able to get it back. So we'd recommend you also keep a copy on your local hard disk, or on portable media such as a DVD or USB memory drive.
  • On University Windows standard secure computers, it is very easy to save to your PFS:- just save your files in the 'Documents' folder.

Local Hard Disk

  • On all staff computers, you can save your files on the hard disk, otherwise known as the local disk or C: drive.
    But, you should only do so if absolutely necessary.
  • On Windows standard secure computers, there is a folder called 'Documents on this PC', or 'Public Documents' which is on the hard disk.
  • If you are using a Windows standard secure computer, we recommend you only use the hard disk for backing up non-confidential files. 

Disadvantages of saving to your local hard disk

  • Anyone who can log on to your computer will have access to your files, so they are not secure.
  • Backing up your files is totally your responsibility. If your hard disk fails, and you have not taken a copy of your files, you will lose them. 

Shared Departmental Storage

If you work with corporate documents, or documents that need to be shared with your colleagues you can use your Departmental Shared Storage area. By convention, this appears as drive i: on staff PCs.

We recommend that you use this area to store documents you need to share with colleagues, rather than copying them to cloud-based services such as Dropbox. Material of this type is usually sensitive, and cloud-based storage providers may not meet EU Data Protection requirements.

Please contact the IT Service Desk on ext. 2000 for further advice about this and other storage options such as public folders.

Deleting Files

Files deleted from your 'My Documents' folder will go into your Recycle Bin, so you can recover a file if you delete it by accident. There is an exception to this, which is if you access your 'My Documents' folder by choosing the 'U:' drive (home on prs-store2.unv.wlv.ac.uk) from the list under My Computer (Computer on a Windows 7 PC). Any file deleted from the 'U:' drive will not go into the Recycle Bin.

Protect Data stored on a USB stick

This advice is primarily aimed at students/staff using a USB/memory stick on standard Windows 7 University computers.

To help prevent data loss/corruption please follow the guidelines below when using USB connected storage devices.

On Standard PCs

When you have finished using the storage device close any programs which may have opened files on the device.

  1. Click on the system tray icon in the bottom right hand corner of the screen:

    System tray icon

  2. Double click on the USB connected device icon:

    USB Connected device icon

  3. Click on the option to eject your data storage device:

    Options to eject device

  4. Wait until the information balloon appears - 'Safe to Remove Hardware'. Then remove your device:

    Safe to remove hardware message

On Thin Clients

A thin client box

Thin clients are mainly located in Harrison Learning Centre and the Performance Hub.

They are small computers on the desk, and when you log in you get a different login box - you log in to the vWorkspace.

When you have finished using the storage device close any programs which may have opened files on the device.

  1. Click on the system tray icon in the bottom right hand corner of the screen:

    System tray icon

  2. Click on the Quest vWorkspace Virtual USB Hub:

    Quest vWorkspace USB icon
    Quest vWorkspace virtual USB hub

    Note:
     If you click on the normal Windows USB connected device icon it will give you the option to eject the device but not actually work.

  3. Select Advanced:

    Virtual USB hub - select advanced

  4. Click on the Disconnect button and when this becomes 'greyed out' you can remove the storage device:

    Virtual USB hub - select Disconnect


To reconnect a device that you've Disconnected during the current session

Go into the Quest vWorkspace Virtual USB Hub again and select the Unexclude button:

Virtual USB hub - unexclude