The University of Wolverhampton

Board of Governors


The University of Wolverhampton is a Higher Education Corporation, as established under the Education Reform Act 1988. The University of Wolverhampton is an exempt charity under The Charities Act 1993 (consolidated by The Charities Act 2011). The University, since its earliest days in the mid-nineteenth century, has had the purpose of providing the benefits of further and higher education to as many people in the community having the motivation and academic ability to do well. 

The University enjoys the benefits of charitable status but the role of regulator is assumed by the Higher Education Funding Council for England (HEFCE). The University's Board of Governors act as trustees of the University. You can read more about the University as a charity here

Membership of the Board of Governors 2014/15 (until 31st Aug 2015)


Independent Governors

  • Dr Simon Walford (Chair)
  • Ms Kathy Gee (Deputy Chair)
  • Mr Ben Reid
  • Ms Kate Copestake
  • Dr Josh Johnson
  • Mr Mike Priddy
  • Ms Paula Clark
  • Carole Burgher
  • Professor Martin Chambers
  • Mr Jas Bains
  • Ms Kim Carr

Co-opted Governors

  • Cllr Kuldip Sahota
  • Professor Gill Nicholls
  • Dr Aidan Byrne (elected representative of teaching staff)
  • Rev Eddie Wynn (elected representative of non-teaching staff)
  • Dr John Pymm (Academic Board nominee governor)
  • Ms Gabriela Steinke (Academic Board nominee governor)
  • Mr Yashir Aboubakar (student governor)
  • Mr Adam Khan (Student governor)
  • Professor Geoff Layer (Vice-Chancellor)

 Clerk to the Board

  • Ms G Towns

Governors may be contacted via or c/o Clerk to the Board, Offices of the Vice-Chancellor, University of Wolverhampton, Wulfruna Street, Wolverhampton, WV1 1LY


 Page updated 21.07.2015